Top Interesting Facts About IPL You May Not Know


It would not be wrong to say that IPL is like a festival or carnival in India that everyone likes to watch. In this league, well-known cricketers from across the world show their skills. The sixes and fours in these matches brim the audience with great excitement and thrill.

Since IPL is the most watched premier league in the world, people especially download the IPL score app and platforms to ensure even if they are travelling or stuck in the market, they can stay informed about the live scores. Here are some of the top interesting facts about IPL you may not know.

The starting of IPL

IPL began when zee entertainment enterprises started the Indian Cricket League (ICL), but that league did not get the support of BCCI. The BCCI took this league as its rival and discussed giving a lifetime ban to the players taking part in the ICL. However, a year later, in 2007, the Indian Premier League (IPL) came into existence under the leadership of former BCCI president MR. Lalit Modi. BCCI unfolded that they had been planning it for two years.

Distinct rules of IPL

Some rules came into existence to choose the IPL team, such as eighteen to twenty-five players could play in an IPL team and whose cost should be eighty crores, in which just eight players might play from outside the countries and four players in the Play XI. Yes, just outside countries can play. This type of step was taken to ensure that more and more players of India can play IPL, and their skills can come to the front.

Only Eight Teams Participated in the Early Days of IPL.

Yes, can you guess the names of the teams? Well, here are those:

– Delhi Daredevils.

– Mumbai Indians.

– Bangalore Royal Challengers.

– Chennai Super Kings.

– Deccan Chargers.

– Rajasthan Royals.

– Kings XI Punjab.

– Kolkata Knight Riders.

IPL: The first match

If you are an ardent fan of IPL, then you may be knowing already that the 1st match of IPL got played on 1st April in the year 2007 between Bangalore Royal Challengers and Kolkata Knight Riders. Moreover, in this first match of IPL, Brendon McCullum made this IPL more thrilling and exciting by playing an innings of one hundred fifty-eight runs for Bangalore Royal Challengers. Similarly, on March 21st 2010; it was announced that two more teams would be added in the fourth season of IPL, Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala; however, after just one year, Kerala got terminated because of the bow of BCCI.

Next, in the year 2015, IPL took a new turn; because of match-fixing, Chennai Super Kings, as well as Rajasthan Royals, were declared banned for the time of two years. And at this time, two new teams, namely Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions, were introduced!


To sum up, how many of these interesting facts do you actually know? Well, it is not just about cricket scores that you should stay informed about, but about the entire journey of the IPL!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *